audrey-mari-HvhinFxq4_s-unsplash.jpg

ABOUT US

...

what followed was a long search for a suitable location, which would allow me to scale up the successful pilot project into an actual restaurant. eventually i found something in the upcoming "gundeli" district. after running the renown chinese restaurant mandarin for 40 years, the owner was planning to retire and handed over the restaurant to me.

in collaboration with the ingenious interior architects of bravo ricky, and a fantastic team of craftsmen, friends and family, the restaurant was rebuilt in just a little bit more than a month and transformed into a japanese izakaya!

izakayas are a kind of gastropubs where meals (many of them for sharing) and beverages are enjoyed in a sociable atmosphere, which is why they are extremely popular in japan. often izakayas are small businesses named after the family owning them, which is also the case here with "miake" (三明) meaning three lights. this is why our logo shows three lanterns (a very typical decoration of such restaurants) with the inscription "izakaya" (居酒屋).

 

on saturday, september 19th 2020, we celebrated the inauguration of the restaurant, and since that day i am happy to welcome you together with my wonderful team. please come and visit us in our little japanese world!

 

your hosts,

 

toru fischbach & team miake izakaya

ÜBER UNS

...

danach begann die lange suche nach einem geeigneten standort, um das gelungene pilot-projekt in einem „richtigen“ restaurant umzusetzen. schliesslich wurde ich im aufstrebenden gundeli-quartier fündig. nach 40 jahren ging der besitzer des alterwürdigen mandarin in den verdienten ruhestand und überliess mir das lokal aus den 1960er jahren.

 

zusammen mit den genialen innenarchitekten von bravo ricky, einem fantastischen team von handwerkern, freunden und familie wurde das lokal in nur gut einem monat in ein japanisches izakaya verwandelt!

 

izakayas sind eine art gastropubs, wo speisen (viele zum miteinanderteilen) und getränke in geselliger atmosphäre genossen werden, weshalb sie in japan unheimlich beliebt sind. oft sind izakayas kleine familienbetriebe, bei denen der eigene name auch für das restaurant verwendet wird wie in meinem fall mit miake (三明), was "drei lichter" bedeutet. aus diesem grund gibt es in unserem logo drei laternen (eine typische dekoration solcher restaurants) mit "izakaya" (居酒屋) als schriftzug.

 

am samstag, 19. september 2020 war eröffnung, und seither freue ich mich jeden tag sehr, euch mit meinem tollen team willkommen zu heissen. lasst euch verwöhnen und überraschen!

 

eure gastgeber,

 

toru fischbach & team miake izakaya

miake izakaya | sempacherstrasse 7 | 4053 basel

© 2020 by eric kohler  |  impressum & datenschutz

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
RZ_Miake_Red_Logo_RGB_Neg.png